## GENERAL POLICY ON ESTABLISHMENT OF NEW CENTRAL UNIVERSITY AND CONVERSION OF STATE UNIVERSITY INTO CENTRAL UNIVERSITY

With a view to increasing access and improving the quality of higher education in the country, the 11<sup>th</sup> Five Year Plan as approved by the National Development Council (NDC) envisaged setting up of one Central University each in States which did not have any Central University till then. Accordingly, 16 Central Universities were established by the Central Universities Act, 2009 in different un- served States.

In the 12<sup>th</sup> Five Year Plan, as approved by NDC, **the focus is on scaling up of capacity in existing institutions rather than increasing the number of institutions**, with exception of new institutions needed to address critical regional and social gaps. The Central Government has launched a new centrally sponsored Scheme, *Rashtriya Uchchtar Siksha Abhiyan (RUSA)* which would seek to incentivize the State Governments to improve higher education by creating additional capacity in existing institution and set up new institutions in un-served and underserved areas. Under this scheme, the State Government would have the flexibility to set up new Universities and Colleges keeping in mind the local requirements.

As regards **conversion of the State University into Central University**, this Ministry has taken a policy decision not to convert State Universities into Central Universities for reasons of legacy issues, adjustment of existing staff and disaffiliation of affiliated colleges.

\*\*